You're listening to Lou Caputo's "Not So Big Band" playing "Cinamon & Clove". This song was written by Johnny Mandel and features solos by Lou Caputo, Joel Perry, Geoffrey Burke and John Eckert. It was arranged by Bill Whited

Lou Caputo's
"Not So Big Band"

  • Lou Caputo: alto, soprano & baritone saxophone, flute, bass clarinet
  • John Eckert, Dave Smith: Trumpet & Flugelhorn
  • Jason Ingram: Trombone
  • Howard Johnson: Tuba & Bass Clarinet
  • Geoffrey Burke: Alto Saxophone and Flute
  • Virginia Mayhew: Tenor Saxophone
  • John Simon: Tenor Saxophone
  • Joel Perry: Guitar
  • Don Stein: piano (except track 9)
  • Howard Williams: piano (tract 9)
  • Conal Fowkes: Piano, Synth Patch (on "Angel")
  • Chris White: Bass (tracks 2,3,4,5,6,7,12)
  • Bill Crow: Bass (tracks 1, 5, 8, 8, 10, 11)
  • Rudy Petschasuer: Drums (tracks 1, 5, 8, 9, 10, 11)
  • Billy Hart: Drums (tracks 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 12)
  • Leopoldo Fleming: Conga and Percussion
  • Christopher White III: Udu (Percussion overdub-track 1)
  • Jann Parker: vocal on "All Blues"

Welcome To Lou Caputo's Website

Lou's summer schedule in now on the site. Come see him as some of NYC's finest jazz clubs.

Check out the Photo Gallery for the "Not So Big Band" performance at Trumpet's in Monclair, NJ this past June.

cd cover front
cd cover Back
The new CD (Interface) produced by Lou and Chris White is now available featuring a Quintet consisting of Lou Caputo (Alto, Soprano, Baritone Saxophones, Clarinet, Flute and Alto Flute), Chris White (Bass), Don Stein (Piano), Payton Crossley (Drums), Warren Smith (Vibraphone) and Leopoldo Fleming (Precussion) has just been released and is available at CD Baby.

Interface is the product of a lifetime of collaboration and friendship.

Chris White and Lou Caputo first met during Christmas week 1968, but they’d each graduated Brooklyn’s Boys High (now Boys & Girls) at separate times. Following a friend to a bass lesson

Caputo met White while he was still in the army and very much a student of music. White was a more seasoned artist and musical educator by then. A bassist, he'd already performed with the likes of Dizzy Gillespie and Nina Simone and served as the director of jazz studies at Rutgers University.

The meeting proved invaluable when Caputo returned from the Army in 1969 to study under the great Frank Foster per White’s recommendation. It marked a turning point for Caputo and the start of a creative relationship between he and White.

Around 1973, White invited Caputo to perform with him at Carnegie Hall. It was the first time Caputo had performed there, but not the last time he'd work with White. Through the years their friendship grew into areas aside from music and a deeper personal bond has also developed.

During Christmas week of 2011, White and Caputo began the process of putting together the songs that became "Interface." White composed two of the album's tracks and fuctions as producer and bassist and Caputo as bandleader and soloist. Aziza Williams, a former band member of White at the afore mentioned Carnegie Hall concert, also contributed an original composition, "La Costa."

Speaking of contributions and more than casual connections: the work of, Payton Crossley, Warren Smith and Don Stein as well as Leopoldo Fleming reflect the more than casual musical interaction spawn by the more than 30 years of working with each other in a myriad of musical settings. Their interaction with the Brooklyn boys is indeed a part of the chemistry that is Interface.

These recordings are a product of years of artistic connection(s), and the harvesting of many musical ideas and associations. MATT CAPUTO



Lou's album featuring his "Not So Big Band". has been a big success since it was introduced in 2010. You can preview it and buy it at CD Baby. Check out the review in the March 2011 issue of THE NEW YORK CITY JAZZ RECORD. and the review in O's Place Jazz Magazine.

Check out Lou's interview in Eric Nemeyer's Jazz Inside Magazine. Download a free copy of the June issue. Lou's interview is on page 44.

The video of the song you are now listening to "Cinnamon & Clove" is now up on the Video page.